Happy New Years, everyone!

I hope you have had a wonderful New Years no matter where you were or what you were doing. Like last year, on the 31st I got on a bus (this time I took a Mega Bus and it was 100X better than the Greyhound) and made my way to Chicago. Stephen met me at Union Station where we took a train about 45 minutes back to where his car was parked. We ate dinner then went to his friend’s house for a great New Years Eve. We played games and watched the Chicago “rising of the star” into 2016.

IMG_5873
Before I got on the bus I had enough time to find this amazing little coffee shop in down town Columbus called Hemingway’s Cafe.
IMG_5875
I got the most delicious chai tea latte!
IMG_5878
My view on the Mega Bus. Definitely recommend this bus service over Greyhound.

Usually when I go to Chicago, Stephen and I will spend a day down town exploring and doing fun stuff. This time it was freezing and we both decided it would be better if we just stayed close to where his mom lives. So we had our traditional breakfast at Walker Brother’s Pancake House. It was amazing as usual! I love that this place has gluten free options. After we ate we walked around the mall just to let the food digest before we went to Sky Zone. We had a blast! If you don’t know what Sky Zone is, it’s an indoor trampoline park. It was my first time going and we had so much fun! Warning: if you go and you haven’t jumped on a trampoline in a long time, you will wake up very sore the next morning.

IMG_5898
Gluten free pancakes!

All in all the trip was really relaxing. We finished a puzzle, we watched Inside Out for the first time, watched football with his parents, and played games with his friends when they came over. When we left, the puppy didn’t want us to go!

IMG_5905
“Please don’t go!” – Eli

Now let’s get down to the real business of this post. I know a lot of people who don’t believe in setting New Years resolutions because they don’t think it’s realistic. I have one family member who thinks you should set new goals for yourself with every new day. And I totally respect that. You do you, everyone.

For me, New Years resolutions have had good results. So why stop something that has been pretty successful? Last year my only resolution was to get back into the gym. I bought a gym membership for the rainy/cold/snowy days. I made Stephen (who was a track and cross country runner for many years) force me to work out even when I didn’t want to. And I made it the whole year. Granted there were weeks I wasn’t as good, but for the most part I lived up to my gym membership.

This year I have more than one resolution, so I thought I would share my list with you guys. Some of these are shared resolutions for Stephen and I.

  1. Run/workout three times a week. That breaks down into 156 workouts for the year. Stephen came up with this one to get us into a better routine with our workouts.
  2. Do more after work. Now, what I mean by this is to not go home and veg out every night. I want to have a night to read. A night to play games or do puzzles. A night to write. Maybe we can go to a cafe or coffee shop and read/write. I don’t really care what we do, but I want to move away from the TV.
  3. Blog at least twice a week. I want to get on a routine with my blog.
  4. Make grocery lists. When we need to go grocery shopping, we usually just hop in the car and get food and go home. But after two days we discover we don’t have a lot to work with because we only bought bits and pieces without working everything into actual meals. So we are going to start making lists to hopefully save money and have good meals for the week.
  5. Sort of going off #4, we want to eat healthier. We do an OK job right now. We try to have a veggie every night with dinner and try to have a fruit every day. But we could do better. And making these grocery lists will help us do that.

That’s my list! I didn’t want to have too many things on my list because that’s when things get a little too hard to keep up with, but I think 5 is a good number. What do you think? I have a good feeling about this year. I just think this will be my year to dominate my life. Really get my life in order.

What are your resolutions this year? Do you have any similarities to my list? Do you have any suggestions to help me stick with my resolutions? I would love to hear from you guys!

Thanks for reading and I will check you later!

New-Years-Resolution-Memes-2